Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20510

February 20, 2024

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20585-0001

Dear Secretary Granholm:

We write today in support of LS GreenLink's application to the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Qualifying Advanced Energy Project Credit (48C) Program to assist with establishing a new campus for offshore wind and subsea cable manufacturing facility in Chesapeake, Virginia.

This proposed project is expected to bring an approximately \$680 million investment, including over 275 jobs to the Hampton Roads region. This investment will help continue to grow Hampton Roads as a hub for offshore wind development, which has been a longtime goal of the Commonwealth.

The project will improve the viability of offshore wind development nationally. The global order backlog for the high-voltage direct current subsea export cables LS GreenLink will produce, which are necessary for every offshore wind project, is currently seven years. By 2028, demand for these cables from offshore wind projects across the country is expected to double expected domestic production capability. This facility would help close this gap.

Work is underway on the Coastal Virginia Offshore Wind (CVOW) project – a 2.6 gigawatt commercial offshore wind farm that is expected to power over 650,000 homes in the Commonwealth. This project – currently the largest offshore wind project under development in the nation – combined with state-of-the-art terminals at the Port of Virginia and high-skilled workforce in the region, makes the City of Chesapeake an ideal location for this proposed project.

We are encouraged that LS GreenLink is actively engaged with the Commonwealth, regional and community-based workforce recruiting and training programs and believe that this collaboration will benefit LS GreenLink and increase economic opportunity in the Hampton Roads region.

We ask that you give this application your full and fair consideration consistent with applicable agency guidelines. To the extent possible, please continue to update our offices on the status of this program.

Thank you for your service on behalf of our constituents.

Sincerely,

Mark R. Warner
United States Senator

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress Tim Kaine

United States Senator

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger
Member of Congress

Jen A. Kiggans Member of Congress